Skip to main content
south seneca schools - click for home
where futures are created

South Seneca seniors receive awards, scholarships

Thousands of dollars in scholarships and several accolades were given to South Seneca seniors who demonstrated academic achievement, leadership and character during their last year of high school.
The 2017 South Seneca Senior Class Awards brought proud parents, guests, school staff members and award presenters to the middle school-high school auditorium to honor all of the seniors’ accomplishments. A monetary award accompanied a majority of the recognitions, while others were presented as plaques, certificates of achievement and one included a drill set.
Some of the special honors included: recognition as members of the Falcon Players, artistic achievement, community service, highest achievement in Jazz, highest average in math and history, school spirit, outstanding TST BOCES student, most improved student and positive attitude, among several additional accomplishments.
High School guidance counselor Scott Anderson presented all South Seneca seniors who will wear colored stoles at graduation to signify their level of academic achievement for overall averages of 88 and above.
Principal Tim Houseknect offered closing remarks and showed his appreciation for the senior class.
“You obviously demonstrate a lot of skill in the classroom, but what really impresses me is your people skills,” he said. “I hope it takes you back to the South Seneca area sometime.”
Following the ceremony, honorees and their guests mingled over light refreshments.

2017 South Seneca Senior Class Awards
Access to College Education (ACE):  Jenna Darling
American Legion Auxiliary Unit #462 Nursing Scholarship:  Alexandra VanHorn
American Legion Post #463 Manning/Lila of Ovid – Higher Education Award: Isaiah Lateer    
American Legion Post #463 Manning/Lila of Ovid – Most Improved Student:Connor Austin     
Art Club Award:  Jenna Darling
Barbara Gail Lewis “Pass It On” Award:  Sarah Albro, Mary-Kate Badalamenti, Caroline Cabot,  Kiarah David, Courteney Delong, McKenzie Finizio, Destiny Freitas-Valderrama, Lynne Jenkins, MacKenzie Kenyon, Emily Lavarnway, Claire McPherson, Bailey Minges, Jasmine Morrow, Kimberly Mosher, Krystofer Mosher, Albino Pascual-Pascual, Ryley Rasmussen,  Bailey Riley, Kelsey Shaulis,  Brent Smith, MacKenzie Welch and Aleisha Woodard
Beta Delta Chapter of Delta Kappa Award for Education:  MacKenzie Welch
Best Wrench Award - NAPA of Ovid:  Krystofer Mosher
Biology Award:  Kelsey Shaulis
Boyer Memorial Best Citizen of Tomorrow:  Devin Rogers and Brent Smith
Brewer – Armitage Memorial Award for Theatre: Cameron Vanselow
Brian Dox Memorial Scholarship:  Kiarah David, MacKenzie Kenyon and Bailey Minges
Carl & Bruce Oldenburg Memorial Scholarship:  McKenzie Finizio and  Krystofer Mosher
Carla & Mike Wambold Memorial for Sportsmanship:  Connor Austin and Kelsey Shaulis
The Cindy D’Amico Memorial Scholarship:  Courteney Delong
D.A.R. – Award for Highest Average in American History:  Adam Wagner
Daniel Waid Memorial for Woodworking:  Skyler Aho
*Daniel Waid Memorial Scholarship for the Helping Professions: Sarah Albro
Dean Murphy Memorial for Carpentry:  Damion Brown
Douglas Chamberlain Memorial Character Award:  Jenna Darling
Douglas C. Clark Sportsmanship Memorial Award:  Bailey Minges and Krystofer Mosher
Dr. Rodney D. Littlejohn Positive Attitude Award:  Scott Hawley
Dr. Willis Allen – Drama Scholarship:  Scott Hawley
Elizabeth Gray Brewer Memorial for School Spirit & Artistic Achievement: Jenna Darling    
Elliott Trust – Robert & Theresa Elliott – Highest Average in Math & History:Adam Wagner    
Esther F. Wyckoff Scouting Award:  Jacob Granger and Scott Hawley
Farmerville Union Lodge #183 – Highest Average in Math:  Adam Wagner
Farmerville Union Lodge #183 – Outstanding BOCES Student:  Jacob Granger and Alexandra VanHorn
Felicia Westervelt Memorial Scholarship:  Jasmine Morrow and MacKenzie Welch
Folts Memorial Service Award:  Scott Hawley and MacKenzie Welch
Four Town Community Service Award:  Adam Wagner
Frances Mary Turnbull Scholarship for a Willard Student:  Robert Henderson, Claire McPherson and Kelsey Shaulis
Gemm Shop Scholarship:  Mary-Kate Badalamenti
George D. Prentice Basketball Scholarship Award:  Devin Rogers
Hal Morris Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Business:  Devin Rogers   
Hallett Scholarship for a Lodi Student:  Kiarah David and Adam Wagner
Harriet Coryell for Drama – 20th Century Club:  Ryley Rasmussen
Highest Average in English:  Adam Wagner
*James H. Rice Memorial Scholarship:  Sarah Albro
Jerger Memorial for BOCES student in Auto Body/Auto Mechanics:  Brett Robinson
John A. LaVancher Charitable Foundation Scholarship:  MacKenzie Welch
Jim Turo Award for Woodworking:  Tim Borden
John J. Ingalls Memorial:  Krystofer Mosher
John Phillip Sousa Music Award:   Sarah Albro
Louis Armstrong Jazz Musician:  Sarah Albro
Mary E. Collins Memorial Nursing Scholarship: McKenzie Finizio, Kelsey Shaulis and Alexandra VanHorn  
Myles C. and Virginia R. Cosgrove Scholarship: Ryley Rasmussen
National Choral Award: Sarah Albro
National Marching Band Award:  Scott Hawley
National Scholastic Art Participation Awards:  Aleisha Woodard
NYS Higher Education Scholarship:  Krystofer Mosher, Cameron Vanselow and Adam Wagner
Orville Cook Memorial Scholarship:  Sarah Albro
Outstanding Foreign Language Student:  Krystofer Mosher
Ovid Federated Church - Attitude & Cooperation:  Robert Henderson and Jamal Limner
Ovid Federated Church - Laura Chapman Memorial for Human Service: Jacob Granger and Emily Lavarnway
Ovid Fire Department - Scholarship & Citizenship:  Benjamin Bub
Ovid VFW Auxiliary - Leadership & Citizenship:  Lucas Huff
Ovid Willard Lions Club - Service Award:  Scott Hawley
Peter K. Thummler Scholarship Award:  Skyler Aho, Connor Austin, Brandon Martin and Adam Wagner
Richard & Lila Oldenburg Memorial – Good Citizenship:  Emily Lavarnway
Royce Green Memorial Scholarship: Skyler Aho
Seneca County Farm Bureau: Cameron Vanselow
Seneca County Medical Society – Highest Average in Chemistry & Biology: Adam Wagner  
Seneca County Youth Bureau Award:  Krystofer Mosher
Seneca Falls Elks Lodge #992 Citizenship Award:  Zebediah Alvarado and Breana Phelps
*Seth M. T. Swain Memorial Scholarship:  Jordan Albrecht
SSCS Disney Legacy Band Boosters Scholarship:  Scott Hawley and Krystofer Mosher
SSCS Falcon Players Encore Award:  Sarah Albro, Scott Hawley, Ryley Rasmussen, Brent Smith and Cameron Vanselow
*Theodore S. Smith Jr. Memorial Scholarship:  Jordan Albrecht, Sarah Albro, Krystofer Mosher, Cameron Vanselow and AdamWagner
Transportation Department Award:  Tim Borden
Trumansburg Home Telephone-Griswold Scholarship:  Krystofer Mosher
Virginia Alekson Award:  Courteney Delong
William Jay Memorial:  Adam Wagner

*New Award This Year